Louisiana has a state-mandated training course for most people applying for a concealed handgun permit. Our Concealed Permit Certification course gives you the certification needed to apply for, or renew, a concealed handgun permit in Louisiana, a concealed weapon permit (CCW) in Florida, or for an enhanced permit in Mississippi. If you are a resident of Louisiana, you need a LA CHP to conceal carry a handgun here. The LA CHP is recognized in a total of 38 states, including Louisiana.
For Louisiana residents, our course is offered both in the traditional in-person format and our hybrid online format. With the online course, you can take the classroom material on your own time and at your own pace using our video-based e-learning system. This allows for higher retention of the information. I cover more topics, lessons, and skills during the online course. If you like video-based learning, this is really the way to go. You also have access to the material for 1 year so that you can go back and view the material again. After completing the online CHP course, you will still need to qualify in person with us, or one of our partner instructors around the state.
Louisiana State Police recommends that you apply using their online application system, then get fingerprinted in person at the State Police Headquarters in Baton Rouge. The process isn’t hard but there are things that you need to pay attention to when applying. We do have a free online course available to help you through the application process.
- Firearm Safety
- Defensive Handgun Types, Nomenclature
- Defensive Firearms ammunition
- Holsters and Holster Presentation
- Should vs. Could
- Louisiana’s Laws on Use of Force
- Regulations Surrounding the Permit
- Alternative Force Options
- Firearm Storage, Access Prevention, and Responsible Ownership
- Defensive Shooting Basics
- The Importance of Firearm Cleaning
- Concealed Carry Considerations
- The Aftermath of Using a Firearm in Self-Defense
- Defensive Handgun
- 50 Rounds Ammunition
- Hearing Protection
- Eye Protection
- Note-Taking Materials
Online $99 (Plus $35 for Shooting Qualification)
The Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit Course isn’t really a learn-how-to-shoot course, it’s more of a learn-how-not-to-shoot-course. Louisiana does have a shooting qualification requirement, and this mostly makes up the time at the range. If you are more interested in an intro class that teaches defensive shooting, please check out our Defensive Handgun 100 courses. These can also be combined with the LA CHP course for qualifying. We also offer private training sessions that better prepare students for concealed carry. Please contact us if you’re interested in signing up for this course and a private training session at a discounted rate.